+ Sacramento Area Flood Control Agency (SAFCA)

The Sacramento Area Flood Control Agency was formed in 1989 to address the Sacramento area's vulnerability to catastrophic flooding. This vulnerability was exposed during the record flood of 1986 when Folsom Dam exceeded its normal flood control storage capacity and several area levees nearly collapsed under the strain of the storm. SAFCA’s mission is to reduce flood risk, thereby minimizing the impacts of floods on human safety, health, and welfare; and, consistent with these flood risk reduction goals, to preserve and enhance the environmental and aesthetic values that floodways and floodplains contribute to the quality of life in the Sacramento region.

+ West Sacramento Area Flood Control Agency (WSAFCA)

The West Sacramento Area Flood Control Agency was formed to address West Sacramento’s vulnerability to catastrophic flooding. WSAFCA’s mission is to reduce flood risk by controlling and conserving waters for the protection of life and property that could be damaged by flood waters, thereby minimizing the impacts of floods on human safety, health, and welfare.

+ Sutter Butte Flood Control Agency (SBFCA)

The Sutter Butte Flood Control Agency is the Agency leading the planning and implementation efforts of more than $290 million flood control improvements in the Sutter-Butte Basin to reduce the risk of catastrophic, riverine flooding. SBFCA was formed in 2007 for the purpose of consolidating the efforts of several agencies and communities with flood management responsibilities. SBFCA is a joint powers authority (JPA) agency composed of the cities of Biggs, Gridley, Live Oak, and Yuba City, the counties of Sutter and Butte, and Levee Districts 1 and 9.

+ Three Rivers Levee Improvement Authority (TRLIA)

The Three Rivers Levee Improvement Authority is joint powers agency established in May 2004 by the County of Yuba and Reclamation District 784 to finance and construct levee improvements in south Yuba County. TRLIA’s mission is to provide 200-year flood protection to the communities of Plumas Lake, Arboga, Olivehurst, and Linda. TRLIA has identified levee improvements to achieve that goal along the Yuba, Feather, and Bear Rivers and the Western Pacific Interceptor Canal. In total, more than $420 million is being invested in flood protection improvements, approximately half of which is being paid for by the State of California.

+ San Joaquin Area Flood Control Agency/Reclamation Districts 1614 & 828

The San Joaquin Area Flood Control Agency, along with Reclamation Districts 1614 and 828 are responsible for flood protection to the lands North (RD 1614 Smith Tract) and South (RD 828 Weber Tract) of the Smith Canal in the City of Stockton and San Joaquin County. The agencies are working together to implement a plan to reduce flood risk from the levees along Smith Canal.

+ Natomas Mutual Water Company

The Natomas Mutual Water Company (Natomas) is a private, mutual water company that controls surface water rights for over 280 landowners in an area known as the American Basin. The American Basin is located immediately north of the City of Sacramento, California and encompasses approximately 55,000 acres. Natomas diverts water from the Sacramento River and its tributaries to provide irrigation water for agricultural use and habitat preservation over a service area of about 36,000 acres. The operation of Natomas’ irrigation facilities provides important habitat for at-risk species, such as the giant garter snake and the Swainson’s hawk. Seasonal flooding of rice fields for rice straw decomposition provides needed wetland habitat for waterfowl.

+ Cities of Lathrop & Manteca

The Cities of Lathrop and Manteca are working together to plan for and implement flood control improvements in the RD 17 Basin in order to ensure that an urban level of flood protection is provided to their communities. Together, the Cities, in close coordination with Reclamation District No. 17 are spear heading the effort to develop a regional entity that will ultimately become the Local Flood Management Agency that will implement 200-year flood control improvements.

+ City of Woodland

The City of Woodland is working to achieve a minimum 200-year level of flood protection. The City of Woodland in partnership with the California Central Valley Flood Protection Board have partnered to advance the Lower Cache Creek, Yolo County, California, City of Woodland and Vicinity, Feasibility Study in partnership with the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers. The Proposed Project is intended to meet the State’s Urban Level of Flood Protection as set forth in Senate Bill 5 and the Central Valley Flood Protection Plan adopted by the Central Valley Flood Protection Board in June 2012.

+ Reclamation District 1000 (Natomas Basin)

Reclamation District No 1000’s mission is flood protection for the Natomas Basin providing for the public’s health and safety by operating and maintaining the levees, and the District’s canals and pump stations in a safe, efficient and responsible manner. On behalf of and in communication with the residents of the Natomas Basin, the District meets its flood protection mission by operating and maintaining: the perimeter levee system to prevent exterior floodwaters from entering the Natomas Basin; the District’s interior canal system to collect the stormwater runoff and agricultural drainage from within the Natomas Basin; and the District’s pump stations to safely discharge interior stormwater and agricultural drainage out of the Natomas Basin.

+ Reclamation District 900 (West Sacramento)

Reclamation District 900 is responsible for operating and maintaining 14.4 miles of levees that surround West Sacramento south of the Union Pacific Rail Road and the internal drainage system that collects and removes stormwater to prevent flooding. In addition to supporting the flood protection mission of West Sacramento Area Flood Control Agency, the District is undertaking a long-term plan to repair, rehabilitate and replace the drainage pump stations and detention basins.

Santa Cruz County Flood Control & Water Conservation District–Zone 7 (Pajaro River)

Reclamation District 108

Reclamation District 784 (Plumas Lake)

Reclamation District 800 (Clarksburg)

Reclamation District 817 (Lower Elkhorn)

Reclamation District 827 (Weber Tract)

Reclamation District 1614 (Smith Tract)

Reclamation District 2035 (Conaway)

Reclamation District 2059 (Bradford Island)

Reclamation District 2103 (Wheatland)

Reclamation District 2140 (Hamilton City)

Knights Landing Ridge Drainage District

Meridian Farms Water Company

Sites Reservoir Project Authority

Solano County

The Nature Conservancy

Madera County

Multnomah County Drainage District

Sutter Mutual Water Company